BRIDGE 1/2 – object/performance by Elene Rakviashvili

BRIDGE 1 – values

Performance

Concept: If the Peace does not exist, what does it means The Peace Bridge?  What is an Open Border if there disgrace and fear linger; what is the meaning of Mutual Tolerance among nations if it’s space is limited?

Description: Performance takes place at the river separating Germany and Poland.  A symbolic bridge is created by throwing a white textile (Saxon cloth) across to the opposite river bank, incessantly and repeatedly trying to reach the other side.

Saxon cloth is covered by Georgian scripts from the poem Night in a Tiger’s Skin, written by famous Georgian poet Shota Rustaveli’s (XII century). Poem tells of making a True Bridge—one of friendship and love. Script is made with Saperavi Wine (endemic Georgian species)

drowing1_1024

performance BRIDGE 1

Installation 'bridge

BRIDGE 2 – challenge

Side specific Installation: Bridge, Stone and Plastic

Concept: The concept of Artificial and Natural is opposite, therefore the most of human affords to create the Bridges and Connections between this sides are failed.

bridge2 Challange_1024

BRÜCKE1/2 – Objekt/Performance Elene Rakviashvili

BRÜCKE 1 – Werte

Performance

Konzept: Wenn der Frieden nicht existiert, was bedeutet dann eine Friedensbrücke? Was bedeutet eine offene Grenze, trotz Schande und Angst? Was bedeutet gegenseitiger Respekt zwischen Nationen, wenn der Raum dafür begrenzt ist?

Beschreibung: Die Performance findet am Grenzfluss zwischen Deutschland und Polen statt. Eine symbolische Brücke wird geschaffen, indem ich eine weiße Bahn sächsischen Textilstoffes von einem Ufer zum anderen werfe. Fortwährend und wiederholend versuche ich die andere Seite zu erreichen.

Die sächsische Stoffbahn ist mit georgischen Schriftzeichen bedeckt, die aus dem Gedicht „Eine Nacht in einer Tigerhaut“ stammen, das von dem berühmten georgischen Dichter Shota Rustaveli (XII. Jahrhundert) geschrieben wurde. Das Gedicht erzählt vom Entstehen einer echten Brücke, einer aus Freundschaft und Liebe. Die Schriftzeichen sind mit Saperavi, original georgischem Wein gemalt.

drowing1_1024

performance BRIDGE 1

Installation 'bridge

BRÜCKE 2 – die Probe

Side specific Installation: Brücke, Stein und Plastik

Konzept: Konzeptionell gesehen sind Kunst und Natur gegensätzlich. Deshalb bleiben die meisten menschlichen Versuche, eine Brücke zwischen beiden Seite zu schaffen, erfolglos.bridge2 Challange_1024