Michael and Johanna Dobbelt: “Censored” installation

The Border exists everywhere. State supports boundary posts. Society is regulated by laws, therefore rules.
Censorship is a symbol of border. Borders allow and forbid the restrictions. Does border exists between freedom and dependence, or both have relative concept.
Champignons are a royal family within the nature. Champignons are creatures between plants and animals, they do not need light. In our case black strip represents a border of censorship, which blocks light that provides freedom for mushrooms. In the condition of rigid political censorship the freedom of the people becomes similar to a mushrooms structure: identical, boring and obedient.
The border has relative concept; for someone light has a positive meaning, for others darkness is negative. On another hand light is pernicious and darkness is favorable for life.
Censorship attracts as a casino, the pleasure of nightlife. But this attractiveness can turn to a disappointment, while getting closer we can discover the emptiness of the content and loneliness of the place.
The installation ”Censored” is placed at the so called Gießmannsdorfer’s bridge, a closed border between Poland and Germany.

On official check-points a stamp was placed in passports that allowed the permission of crossing the border between two countries. On one hand this stamp supported censorship, but on another unites these countries. Soon this bridge will be demolished due to non-existence of the check-Point. (Michael and Johanna Dobbelt)

dobbelt1 dobbelt-003 dobbelt-002

censored – Photography Matthias Schumann

Leave a Reply

Michael und Johanna Dobbelt: Installation «Censored»

Die Grenze existiert überall. Der Staat unterhält Grenzposten. Die Gesellschaft ist durch Gesetze und Regeln organisiert.
Zensur ist ein Symbol der Grenze. Grenzen erlauben und verbieten Restriktionen. Existiert eine Grenze zwischen “Freiheit” und “Abhängigkeit”, oder sind beide relativ.
Champignons sind eine königliche Familie innerhalb der Natur. Sie sind Lebewesen zwischen Pflanzen und Tieren, sie brauchen kein Licht. In unseren Fall stellt ein schwarzer Streifen die Grenze der Zensur dar, die das Licht blockiert, der den Pilzen als Metapher ihre “Freiheit” bringt. Aber unter den Bedingungen der harten politischen Zensur kann eine Form der Menschen entstehen, ähnlich den vegetativen Bedingungen der Champignons: identisch, langweilig, ergeben.
Die Grenze — der relative Begriff: Vielleicht erscheint es einigen, dass das Licht gut, und die Finsternis eine Katastrophe ist.  Und anderen ist das Licht verderblich, und in der Dunkelheit gestaltet sich das Leben.
Das Schild eines Kasinos, das zum Vergnügen des Nachtlebens aufruft, steht für die Zensur. Aber das Schild am falschen Ort enntäuscht: Das elektrische Licht in der Dunkelheit, in der offenen Landschaft, ist fern der menschlichen Behausungen…
Die Installation „Censored” ist auf der ehemaligen Gießmannsdorfer Brücke verortet, einem mittlerweile geschlossenen Grenzübergang zwischen Deutschland und Polen.

An offiziellen Grenzübergängen erlaubte ein Stempel im Reisepass den Grenzübertritt zwischen den beiden Staaten. Einerseits unterstützte der Stempel die Zensur, andererseits verband er beide Länder. (Michael und Johanna Dobbelt)

censored

dobbelt-002 dobbelt-003

censored – Photographie Matthias Schumann

Hinterlasse eine Antwort